Old Hall was built in the early 15th Century by Sir
Thomas Hesketh. It is renowned for its magnificent
hammer-beam roof and unique mediaeval carved bog screen.
The building is now comprised of the original great
Hall of timber construction, a brick wing of 1662
and an intervening section which dates for the greater
part from 1821.
Rufford Old Hall contains some fine examples of 17
century furniture, full suits of armour, items of
arms, a beauvais tapestry, a priest's hole and a mid
16th century stone fireplace. The Hesketh Family can
be seen on various paintings around the hall. Also
in the hall are many small displays reflecting life
in the times of the family.
There is the Philip Ashcroft Folk Museum - a reproduction
of a village kitchen, agricultural implements, tapestries,
dolls and costumes and a Tudor bedroom containing
a collection of pottery and porcelain.